ADL Honors Erwin Chemerinsky for His Life’s Work in Safeguarding First Amendment Freedoms

Los Angeles, CA, November 6, 2014 … The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) today honored Erwin Chemerinsky, Dean of the University of California, Irvine School of Law, for dedicating his life’s work to safeguarding First Amendment freedoms and educating law students and the public about their significance.

During ADL’s Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, California, Chemerinsky was presented with the ADL Hubert H. Humphrey First Amendment Freedoms Prize, which recognizes those individuals and institutions that have made significant and lasting contributions to the protection and advancement of the rights and freedoms guaranteed by the First Amendment.

“Erwin Chemerinsky embodies the passions Hubert Humphrey expressed both for the First Amendment and for education,” Abraham H. Foxman, ADL National Director, said in presenting the award. “Not only is he a formidable advocate, he is also a brilliant teacher with a remarkable ability to explain complicated laws and cases in a clear and compelling way.”

Chemerinsky is the founding Dean and Distinguished Professor of Law, and Raymond Pryke Professor of First Amendment Law, at UC Irvine School of Law, with a joint appointment in Political Science. Prior to assuming this position, he was the Alston and Bird Professor of Law and Political Science at Duke University, and before that the Sydney M. Irmas Professor of Public Interest Law, Legal Ethics, and Political Science at the University of Southern California. He is the author of eight books, including The Case Against the Supreme Court, and more than 200 law review articles.

He frequently argues appellate cases, including in the United States Supreme Court.

The ADL Hubert H. Humphrey First Amendment Freedoms Prize was endowed by Dwayne O. Andreas and the Andreas Foundation, and is presented to institutions or individuals who, like Hubert Humphrey, have made significant and lasting contributions to the preservation and advancement of the ideals embodied in the First Amendment of the Constitution.

Past recipients include The Poynter Institute, Daniel Pearl (posthumously), Clarence Page, Nat Hentoff, Bernard Shaw, Wolf Blitzer, Arthur Miller, Barbara Walters, Walter Cronkite, John Chancellor, William Safire, George Will, The MacNeil/Lehrer News Hour and Meet the Press.

The Anti-Defamation League was founded in 1913 to stop the defamation of the Jewish people and to secure justice and fair treatment to all. Today it is the world’s leading organization combating anti-Semitism, exposing hate groups, training law enforcement on hate crimes, developing anti-bias education programs for students, countering cyber-hate and relentlessly pursuing equal rights for all.

More from this Section